Reader’s Choice: Permission

Permission

by Margaret Gallop

Halfway across the road in East Berlin

the small red man tells me to stop.

A real man beside me hesitates,

his wife defies the order and walks on.

 

She crosses two more roads and finds

a seat on the old canal bridge.

She seems triumphant as she waits,

the water underneath her drags.

 

She looks away from where we stand

with broken glass around our feet,

a ridge of tar and complicated lines

telling the bicycles where they may go.

 

At last the waited for green man appears,

his bowler hat a sign of East Berlin,

his arm and leg thrust forward, ‘Go ahead!’

Permission, we may cross the road.

Margaret Gallop: I write poetry to respond to the world around me and reflect on what I have seen and experienced.

Our Reader said:

So much is said in so few words, I am in awe at the author’s ability to reveal a great deal in only four stanzas.

5 thoughts on “Reader’s Choice: Permission

Leave a comment