Members of Didcot Writers have worked together to produce two collections of short stories – and counting! (If you want to write for us, check out our current competition and anthology call for submissions.)

A Night at the Railway Inn

ebook cover - thumbnail.jpeg

This book was launched on 4th Decmber 2019, and features sixteen portraits of the Railway Inn at various times in the last hundred years, making it the backdrop to a diamond theft, a murder, several unexpected discoveries, and a haunting. The stories range in style from haunting and serious to witty and comic, with each author giving their own take on the theme. The work went through two editing stages to ensure that all the stories agree with each other as regards the setting: the Railway Inn.

The book is available in paperback and ebook format here.

Museum Collection

ebook cover thumbnail.jpg

This anthology was launched alongside A Night at the Railway Inn in December 2019, includes short stories and poetry from thirty-five authors. Have you ever wondered what the story is behind some of the items behind the glass? Or what happens after hours in the offices upstairs? This book contains a range of answers to these questions and more.

You can read it in paperback and ebook format here.

First Contact


This anthology was launched 28th September 2019. The book features thirty-one stories from thirty authors – from Didcot and beyond – in a range of genres and styles. Authors could interpret the theme, ‘first contact’, as they wished, and the stories havea wide range of subjects, from meeting a stranger in 1970s Africa to adopting a child, from a mass hallucination to making contact with criminals. This is the group’s fourth book, and its third in print.

The book is available in paperback and ebook format here.

The Most Normal Town in England


Launched 5th December 2018, this is the group’s second collection of short stories, and its first in print.

Inspired by the BBC’s assertion in 2017 that Didcot was close to the nation’s average in terms of lifestyle, opinions and experiences, Didcot Writers issued a challenge to its local members as well as writers further afield to respond to the theme, ‘The Most Normal Town in England’. The book contains 42 stories ranging from sci-fi to romance, literary fiction to humour.

Find out more about the book, and buy the book in paperback or ebook format here.

Compositions: a collection of short stories on the theme of music


The stories in this book were selected from among the submissions to our competition in summer 2018. You can read some of the stories here, and find out about current competitions and publication opportunities here.

The book was launched alongside ‘The Most Normal Town in England’ on 5th December, and you can buy it in paperback and ebook format here.

The Cornerstone Mysteries

This is an online collection of short stories edited and presented by Mark Lewis.

This was the first short story collection completed by members of Didcot Writers (2016), but the third to be published (2019). The collection was released on 24th January 2019, and is available to read for free online, here.